My Babies!

I am not the maternal type.  Well, not when it comes to human babies anyway.  I’m childfree and plan to stay that way.  Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against other people choosing to have kids, I just don’t want to, and that’s totally my choice to make.  And yes, my husband is fully aware of this so I’ve not tricked him or lied to him.

(Warning: Pictures of Snakes below the cut!)

But anyway, whilst human babies may mystify and terrify me, I don’t mind babies of other types.  If you have read my About Me section you will know that I have pet snakes.  Well, over the past few weeks, I’ve gained five more.  In April my female Corn Snake laid a clutch of eggs, and we decided to give incubating them a go.  Not having an actual incubator I had to wing it a bit, so I placed the eggs in a small box on some damp moss and covered them with more moss and placed them over a heat mat.  Unlike birds eggs you don’t have to turn them, snake eggs have to be left in the same position.  They take about 60 days to hatch, though temperature affects the amount of time it takes.   I didn’t actually expect any of the eggs to hatch, and some didn’t make it, but two weeks ago when I checked on the eggs I was surprised by this little guy:

600607_10151723455678628_2071050171_n

Now I know snakes are not everyone cup of tea, but I think this is one of the most adorable things ever!  He’s so pink (I say he, but I have no idea of his actual sex)!  Over the course of two weeks four more hatched out, another pink on like the one above, and three like this:

Graham for some reason called this one Stripy Dave and has become quite attached to him, and no, I have no idea why he chose that name. to give you some idea of the size of the hatchlings, here is one in my hand:

Bear in mind these snakes will grow to be about 4/5ft long, so that’s quite a lot of growing they have to do!  Assuming they all make it (hatchlings are fragile little things and not all survive), we will keep one of each colour, and re home the other three.  The two pink hatchlings have started to feed, so that’s them out of the woods, now just to get the rest to eat, which can be easier said than done.

So there you have it.  My babies 🙂

Leave a Reply

